Judy’s Felting

 

Carolyn is off on a trip.  She usually does all the posts.  She assures me that I can handle this without making a mess of it.  (Hmmm, I think she has more faith in me than I do :-)). Oh well, here goes.

Carolyn took the pictures before she left.

This hat was first wet felted from alpaca wool roving.  I wanted it really soft so I needle felted an extra layer on the outside.  The brim can be worn however one wishes.  It looks very good on Carolyn turned up like this.  The hat is ‘way too big for me.

 

DSCF2295

Nuno felting is wet felting done onto a fabric.  This soft orange scarf is made of merino wool felted onto a silk scarf.

Nuno felting is wet felting done onto a fabric. This soft orange scarf is made of merino wool felted onto a silk scarf.

This scarf is only felted over part of a silk scarf.  The fibres shrink in the direction that you rub most.

This scarf is only felted over parts of a silk scarf. The fibres shrink in the direction that you rub most.

The little clutch purse was made from purple and turquoise  sheep's wool needle felted into the needed shape and then wet felted to shrink and strengthen it.  Some synthetic fibres add the sparkle.

The little clutch purse was made from purple and turquoise sheep’s wool needle felted into the needed shape and then wet felted to shrink and strengthen it. Some synthetic fibres add the sparkle.

Carolyn had a nice little clasp and silver chain to add the finishing touches.

Carolyn had a nice little clasp and silver chain to add the finishing touches.

I saw a lattice scarf on the Internet and had to try it for myself.  The result is a light but warm scarf.

I saw a lattice scarf on the Internet and had to try it for myself. The result is a light but warm scarf.

A ruffle scarf is created by making a solid centre of wool and radiating wool strands out from the middle to make the ruffle. Again the centre shrinks more than the radiating fibres because I worked it more creating a ruffle.

A ruffle scarf is created by making a solid centre of wool and radiating wool strands out from the middle to make the ruffle.
Again the centre shrinks more than the radiating fibres because I worked it more creating a ruffle.

Well, I couldn’t figure out how to add my comments except as captions but I suppose it will do.  Carolyn told me not to do it on the iPad but I couldn’t remember passwords etc. so had to muddle through.  Two hours later- mission accomplished.  More or less 🙂 

3 thoughts on “Judy’s Felting

  1. Brenda Howe says:

    They are all beautifully done and such gorgeous colors!!

  2. art3g says:

    Thanks, Brenda! That’s high praise from a skilled felter like yourself.

Leave a Reply

