Rainy

Last summer I spent a lovely day wandering up the river, taking pictures. I knew there were moose frequenting a pond  and I figured I would come across them at supper time if I came up from downstream.  If not, there is always something interesting at the river anyway.

Sure enough I ran into several deer.  This one was the boss.  While the others ran away, she bounded in circles around me, hissing and snorting.  She made sure to hit the ground as hard as possible and to claim the highest ground.

Sure enough I ran into several deer. This one was the boss. While the others ran away, she bounded in circles around me, hissing and snorting. She made sure to hit the ground as hard as possible and to claim the highest ground.

DSCF7085

I guess she saw me hiding behind a tiny spruce tree.

DSCF7138

When I got to the pond, I snuck in very slowly so the moose wouldn’t hear me. Their hearing is 40 times better than a humans. Unfortunately, I nearly walked into a deer standing behind a tree. Cover blown. The whole forest knew where I was then. So I waited a long time, feeding mosquitoes.

S0677119

It seems the moose weren’t terribly concerned. Silly deer, panicking over nothing. Supper is the main thing, and there is nothing like standing right in the middle of the buffet.

S0727125

There were two moose, nice chocolatey brown, healthy ones.

S0857143

Eventually they did get together and have a conversation about me. They decided to go, but they were full anyway.

S0897147

On the way back, I saw another moose having a snooze on a sand bar.

moose

Oh, I was so stealthy. She saw me, but I could tell she was strangely intrigued.

S0028002

Well, time to mosey on.

DSCF8007

However… Her parting shot was fairly clear.

Leave a Reply

